The weird saga of the “water bottle for Women in Tech” hoax


Yesterday, myself and several other technology journalists received an email from a public relations firm called Misty Mountain PR, touting the virtues of the Memobottle A7 for “women in tech.” The pitch was laughably bad, and in addition to being roundly mocked on Twitter, a couple of publications took the bite and wrote something about it — namely Gizmodo and TNW. It looks like we were trolled. The email, I’m bitterly ashamed to say, was a prank designed to trick reporters, and I fell for it hook, line, and sinker. I screwed up. I hold my hands up, and I…This story continues at The Next Web by Matthew Hughes #TheNextWeb #Internet #tech #news

https://thenextweb.com/insider/2017/08/16/weird-saga-water-bottle-women-tech-hoax/

Read More…

Leave a Reply

